La Liga Top Scorers: A Complete List [2022-23 Season Updated] is an informative blog for readers. The products in the article contain affiliate marketing links. We may receive a small commission when you make purchases through our links. You do not need to pay any additional fees for us. See our full disclosures here

In a soccer tournament, the public always focuses on goal scorers. La Liga is no exception. Every year, we eagerly await the name that holds the position of Spain La Liga top scorers.

In this article, join Scott Fujita to learn more about this title and who holds it year after year. Let’s read on to know more details!

La Liga Top Scorers Of All Time

la liga top scorers scottfujita 1

Lionel Messi

Today, the player holding the most Pichichi (La Liga Top Scorer) titles is none other than Lionel Messi. During his time with Barcelona, Messi scored a total of 474 goals. In the 2011-12 season, Messi set a record when he scored 50 goals.

Second on this list is Athletic Bilbao’s Telmo Zarra. He held the number one position for a very long time until the 2018-19 season. In this season, Lionel Messi has leveled the gap by scoring 34 goals in 36 matches.

la liga top scorers scottfujita 2

Telmo Zarra

Standing third on La Liga goal leaders list is the competition of three players with five individual Pichichi titles. They include Alfredo Di Stéfano (Real Madrid), Quini (Sporting Gijón and Barcelona) and Hugo Sánchez (Atlético Madrid and Real Madrid).

View more: Richest soccer player

La Liga Scoring Leaders Of 2020 – 21 Season

la liga top scorers scottfujita 3

Top goal leaders of La Liga

The 2021-23 season has ended with the Pichichi title belonging to Lionel Messi. The Argentinian player has had five consecutive years holding the title.

With 30 goals, Messi is the only player to surpass this milestone to top the table. The second and third-place finishers were Gerard Moreno and Karim Benzema, with 23 goals each individually.

There weren’t many goals last season. The fourth player on the list, Luis Suárez, stopped with 21 goals. His kicks still make a strong mark when bringing the title to Atletico Madrid. 

With 18 goals, Youssef En-Nesyri closed fifth place in the list of La Liga top goal scorers. He is followed by Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad) with only one goal difference. Seventh place goes to Iago Aspas as he delivers 14 goals. Even so, he can’t afford to snag a spot in Spain’s Euro 2020 squad.

Jose Luis Morales, Rafa Mir, and Antoine Griezmann are the names to complete the top 10 with an equal number of goals at 13. Let’s look forward to their achievements in the new season.


Who Will Be The Spanish La Liga Top Scorer This Season?

In mid-August 2023, the Argentinian star of Barcelona suddenly announced a move to PSG. This statement means that Messi will no longer compete in La Liga goal-scoring awards. Everyone’s attention began to focus on the new faces.

la liga top scorers scottfujita 4

Erik Lamela

Up to this point, these are the brightest faces with the Pichichi title of the new season. They include:

  • Erik Lamela (Sevilla): 3 goals in 120 minutes played.
  • Vinícius Júnior (Real Madrid): 3 goals in 133 minutes played.
  • Ángel Correa (Atlético Madrid): 3 goals in 150 minutes played.
  • Carlos Soler (Valencia): 3 goals in 265 minutes played.

The league is still going on, and we are always ready for new surprises. Let’s see if these names can keep their form until the end or not.

Frequently Asked Questions

This section will help you answer some questions related to the top goal scorers in other tournaments around the world.

la liga top scorers scottfujita 5

Robert Lewandowski

1. Who is the owner of the 2023 Golden Shoe award?

The Golden Shoe is an award to pay tribute to the top scorer in the most advanced tournaments in the European national league system. This title is an honor as it confirms a player’s achievements in a larger arena.

With 41 goals, Robert Lewandowski deserves to be the new owner of the Golden Shoe. Bayern Munich’s Striker proved his top form by breaking the Bundesliga’s scoring record. It is also the first time Lewandowski has received this title.

The person who holds the most Golden Shoe titles in history is Lionel Messi. He has won the title six times, all during his time with Barcelona.

2. Who is the best scorer in the world?

Cristiano Ronaldo. He has scored a total of 787 goals for the club and Portugal national team.

Final Thoughts

After Messi’s absence, the La Liga top goal scorers list in the following seasons will undoubtedly have many changes. Let’s continue to monitor and wait for the final results. Will the leader be a familiar face or a new young talent? Let’s guess together!

No comments yet! You be the first to comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *